Thursday, July 28, 2016

Graphic Novel round up part 2 7.28.16

It's a graphic novel roundup 
Featuring some new graphic novels

I was fortunate to pick up a few new graphic novels at ALA Annual this past June.  Make sure these are on your radar this fall because they are sure to be a hit in your classroom and library!

Dog Man: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #1)
Dog Man
by Dav Pilkey
published by GRAPHIX/Scholastic
August 30th

When you have a book that you know is going to create laughter, it's a book you want to make sure have, and probably multiple copies of!  With his trademark humor, Pilkey gives us a new series.  Each chapter is it's own story, with overlapping characters and similar plot lines.  Humor that will for sure tickle the funny bones of young readers, this book is one you'll want!

by Raina Telgemeier
published by GRAPHIX/Scholastic
September 13th

This is Telgemeier's first foray into a fiction graphic novel that she wrote herself and it's something she should continue doing! 
Ghosts is a wonderful story that has many layers to it.  Cat's family is moving to a northern California town because it's an area that is supposed to be helpful for her sister Maya's condition of cystic fibrosis.  Foggy and misty, it's a perfect setting for a ghost story.  Taking place in the time leading up to Día de los Muertos, Cat has to deal with emotions of wanting to fit in which means she must accept the day and what it brings, and wanting to keep her sister safe from the spirits who may want to take her breath away.  Layers upon layers to this story:  family, death, sickness, ghosts, family spirits, friends, and breathing.  
Fantastic graphic novel and a model one to show naysayers why graphic novels are powerful reading!

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea
Narwhal Unicorn of the Sea 
by Ben Clanton
published by Tundra Books
October 4th

For readers of Lunch Lady, Babymouse, Squish, this is going to be a perfect series to get them into next!  Narwhal is a new series by Ben Clanton, featuring Narwhal and his new friend, Jelly the jellyfish.  Broken up into 3 chapters, each one is funny and more "podtastic" than the other.  In the first chapter Narwhal and Jelly meet and we learn Narwhal is the more easy going of the two, which means having differing personalities... so we know we're going to have different reactions to everything!  In the second chapter Narwhal is looking for his pod and I love that he accepts everyone!  Kids will love the surfer talk in this chapter.  And finally, in the third chapter, the one closest to my reading heart, Narwhal and Jelly read the best book ever - one with no pictures and no words!

What a great roundup of graphic novels we have coming our way! 
Some other new ones on my radar that I can't wait to read:

Mighty Jack
Mighty Jack
by Ben Hatke
published by First Second
Sept. 6th

Science Comics: Volcanoes: Fire and Life
Science Comics: Volcanoes
by Jon Chad
published by First Second
Oct. 18th

Have you seen some of the great graphic novels that have been published recently?  Check out part one of this post - make sure you don't miss any of them!

1 comment:

  1. I didn't get Dog Man, and I am so looking forward to it! Thank you for this round up :)