Thursday, July 20, 2017

upcoming Harper Collins books! 7.20.17

Today is for sharing some upcoming Harper Collins books!  You'll want to add these to your upcoming library purchases list!

Spirit Hunters
Spirit Hunters
by Ellen Oh
publishes July 25th

You know how you have kids who are looking to be scared?  They want books that are going to give them the chills and be a bit spooky.  Well, this is the book you're going to want to hand them.

Harper and her family have just moved to D.C. into a house that is old, needs a lot of fixing up, and is, well, probably haunted.  Within the first few pages we know something is up with this house, and something seems to be targeting Harper's brother, Michael.  Layered with a mysterious past and new friendships, this book will surprise you every time you turn the page!

As the book goes on, we learn more about Harper and her family and this is where the incidental diversity fits in - I love that there are diverse parts of this book without it being about diversity.  There are pieces of Korean culture that are woven into this story that makes it unique and fun.

I can't wait to get this book into the hands of kids this fall!

Goodreads summary
We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh returns with Spirit Hunters, a high-stakes middle grade mystery series about Harper Raine, the new seventh grader in town who must face down the dangerous ghosts haunting her younger brother. A riveting ghost story and captivating adventure, this tale will have you guessing at every turn!

Harper doesn’t trust her new home from the moment she steps inside, and the rumors are that the Raine family’s new house is haunted. Harper isn’t sure she believes those rumors, until her younger brother, Michael, starts acting strangely. The whole atmosphere gives Harper a sense of déjà vu, but she can’t remember why. She knows that the memories she’s blocking will help make sense of her brother’s behavior and the strange and threatening sensations she feels in this house, but will she be able to put the pieces together in time?

The Countdown Conspiracy
The Countdown Conspiracy by Katie Slivensky
publishes August 1st

I have a love/not really love relationship with science fiction.  Science fiction books - not my favorite genre.  Science fiction movies - some I love:  Star Wars... Apollo 13.... Flight of the Navigator... E.T...... (ok, not sure if you really classify those last two as science fiction, but you see where I'm going).

This book, kept me on the seat of my pants, holding my breath, not focusing on any conversations around me.  Even the parts that got too science-y, or too tech-y (wait, did I mention this is really more STEM fiction??), kept it relatable enough I could figure out what they meant without having to understand exactly what they said.

This book is sure to fly off the shelves and I think kids are going to talk to each other about this book.  I can't wait for what Slivensky comes up with next!

Goodreads summary
Ambassador, you are go for launch in T- minus 5…4…3…2….Get ready to blast off with this high-action, high-stakes middle grade adventure that’s perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis!

Miranda Regent can’t believe she was just chosen as one of six kids from around the world to train for the first ever mission to Mars. But as soon as the official announcement is made, she begins receiving anonymous threatening messages…and when the training base is attacked, it looks like Miranda is the intended target. Now the entire mission—and everyone’s lives—are at risk. And Miranda may be the only one who can save them.

The Martian meets The Goonies in this out-of-this-world middle grade debut where the stakes couldn’t be higher.

I'm really excited for these Harper Collins releases.  I hope they find their way into your libraries and into your readers hands this fall!

1 comment:

  1. Oooh, I always have readers clamoring for spooky haunted house stories!!